Anoka Municipal Utility (AMU) is a community-owned, not-for-profit, electric supplier serving the city of Anoka, and portions of the cities of Ramsey, Coon Rapids, Champlin and Dayton. The citizens of Anoka chose to create AMU over a century ago to provide economical, reliable electric power and have local control over an essential service. In 1992, AMU and seven other cities joined together to form MMPA.

The City of Anoka is located at the convergence of the Mississippi and Rum Rivers. The community name is said to derive from a Dakota term for "on both sides of the river" and an Ojibwa term for "working waters."

AMU serves 10,650 residential, 1,400 commercial, and 15 industrial customers including several national accounts such as Pentair and Federal Cartridge (a subdivision of Alliant Tech). Annual revenues top $25 million and close to 10% of gross revenues (more than $2 million in 2013) are contributed to the City of Anoka operating funds. This amount helps keep property taxes low!